Lundi, 28 Mai 2018
Dernières nouvelles
Principale » Pakistan pays India back in same coin in Champions trophy final

Pakistan pays India back in same coin in Champions trophy final

20 Juin 2017

Giles Clarke, the president of the England and Wales Cricket Board and head of the ICC's Pakistan task force said, in comments reported by the Guardian in March: "The desire is to give the cricket-starved Pakistani supporters the chance to see some of the world's finest players in live action".

The South Asians arrived in Britain for the eight-team, one-day global tournament as the lowest-ranked side, packed with players still trying to find their feet at the highest level and given little hope of emerging victorious.

Mickey Arthur hailed Pakistan's turnaround from their opening ICC Champions Trophy defeat to India as "remarkable" after they clinched the title with a stunning victory over the same opposition in Sunday's final.

"To be appointed as captain of the Team of the ICC Champions Trophy 2017, which includes some of the finest and most attractive cricketers of this generation, is the ideal icing on the cake", remarked Sarfraz.

Actors Sidharth Malhotra, Dia Mirza, Soha Ali Khan, music composer Vishal Dadlani and many other celebrities have also tweeted their support for Team India.

It's described as one of the greatest rivalries in any sport, a match that stops the nations, but few expected the latest clash to end like this. They have been waiting for this for a long, long time.

Mohammad Amir and Fakhar Zaman starred for Pakistan in the final.

India captain Kohli accepted his side had been a distant second best.

Ireland's Leo Varadkar reassured by talks with Theresa May over DUP deal
On the issue of Brexit, the taoiseach the will use his first meeting with the prime minister to raise a series of concerns. Mr Varadkar has said he wants to renew the close bond and strong relations that exist between Ireland and the UK.

Amir was involved in the spot-fixing scandal that blighted the Lord's Test against England in 2010.

India had three players, batsmen Virat Kohli and Shikhar Dhawan, together with seamer Bhuvneshwar Kumar, in the ICC team.

India are due to stage the next Champions Trophy in 2021 but Richardson warned Monday it was by no means certain the event would go ahead, with the former South Africa wicketkeeper saying future World Twenty20s could feature up to 20 teams. Some teams start very confidently and then they fade off.

"It's a very important boost for us to win this".

"So we just had to keep believing and keep them trusting the techniques and keep them trusting their game plan and keep them trusting their roles, and that's why I'm incredibly proud of that dressing room because they did that". Credit goes to my boys.

Players begin to return separately to their hometowns after unavailability of tickets barred them from boarding a flight together.

Hasan Ali drew inspiration from his fellow fast bowler to take three wickets and, supported by tigerish fielding which has not always been a feature of Pakistan cricket teams, they bowled out India for 158 to win the trophy for the first time. Mohammad Hafeez and Azhar Ali also notched up half centuries.

Pakistan pays India back in same coin in Champions trophy final